Skip to main content

Advocacy

The primary goal of legislative advocacy efforts of Connections Area Agency on Aging is to secure support and funding for home and community based services. These services provide seniors, persons with disabilities, and caregivers with the independence they want and need to remain in their own homes and communities. With 10,000 persons per day in the United States turning 65, the need for these services continues to increase. It is essential for you to communicate this need and your concerns with local, state and federal policymakers.

For more information concerning national issues relating to home and community based services: National Association of Area Agencies on Aging (n4a)

It is important that you speak out on the issues that concern you. Local legislators hold forums on a regular basis in their communities to "check the pulse" of their constituents and to give you the updates of their legislative work.

Here is a convenient link to the local forums hosted by each party of the Iowa Legislature. Be sure to attend and speak up!

Local Legislative Forums

 

 

Contact Information for Legislators

Federal Senators and Representatives

United States Senate

Senator Joni Ernst

111 Russell Senate Office Building

Washington DC 20510

(202) 224-3254

www.ernst.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact

 

Senator Chuck Grassley

135 Hart Senate Office Building

Washington DC 20510

(202) 224-3744

www.grassley.senate.gov/contact

 

House of Representatives

 

District 1: Congressman Mariannette Miller-Meeks

1516 Longworth House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

(202) 225-6576

https://millermeeks.house.gov/contact

 

District 3: Congressman Zachary Nunn

1232 Longworth House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

(202) 225-5476

https://nunn.house.gov/address_authentication?form=/contact

 

District 4: Congressman Randy Feenstra

1440 Longworth House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

202.225.4426

https://Feenstra.house.gov/contact


Click here to find your  Iowa legislative district.

State of Iowa Representatives and Senators

Iowa State Senators

Senate District 1Senator Rocky DeWitt

         Legislative Email:rocky.dewitt@legis.iowa.gov

         Business Address:1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319

         Capitol Phone:515.281.3371

 

Senate District 2: Senator Jeff Taylor

        Legislative Email:jeff.taylor@legis.iowa.gov

        Business Address:1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319

        Capitol Phone:515.281.3371

 

Senate District 3: Senator Lynn Evans

            Legislative Email: lynn.evans@legis.iowa.gov

            Business Address:1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319

            Capitol Phone:515.281.3371

 

Senate District 6: Senator Jason Schultz

        Legislative Email:jason.schultz@legis.iowa.gov

        Business Address:1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319

        Capitol Phone:515.281.3371

 

 

Senate District 7: Senator Kevin Alons

        Legislative Email:kevin.alons@legis.iowa.gov

        Business Address:1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319

        Capitol Phone:515.281.3371

           

Senate District 8: Senator Mark Costello

        Legislatve Email:mark.costello@legis.iowa.gov

         Business Address:1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319

         Capitol Phone:515.281.3371

 

 

Senate District 9: Senator Tom Shipley

        Legislative Email:tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov

        Business Address:1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319

        Capitol Phone:515.281.3371

 

 

Senate District 10: Senator Dan Dawson

        Legislative Email:dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov

         Business Address:1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319

         Capitol Phone:515.281.3371

 

 

Senate District 12: Senator Amy Sinclair

         Legislative Email:amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov

        Business Address:1007 E Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50319

        Capitol Phone:515.281.3371

      

Senate District 14: Senator Amy Sinclair

           1255 King Road

           Allerton, IA 50008

           641.870.0199  cell

           515.281.3371 capitol

           amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov

 

Iowa State Representatives

House District 3: Representative Dennis Bush

          333 Sioux Valley Drive #115

         Cherokee, IA 51012

          712.225.2403 home

         dennis.bush@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 5: Representative Tom Jeneary

         1501 Schafer Ave SE

          LeMars, IA 51031

          712.539.1275 cell

          tom.jeneary@legis.iowa.gov

        

House District 6: Representative Jacob Bossman

          2650 Cedar St

          Sioux City, IA 51106

         712.251.4541 cell

        jacob.bossman@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 11: Representative Gary Worthan

           5647 105th Ave

           Storm Lake, IA 50588

           712.732.6340 home

           515.281.3221 capitol

            gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 12: Representative Brian Best

           PO Box 491

           Glidden, IA 51443

           712.830.1844 cell

           515.281.3221 capitol

            brian.best@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 13: Representative Chris Hall

          3246 Douglas St

          Sioux City, IA 51104

          515.281.3221 capitol

          chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 14: Representative Steve Hansen

           3669 Lindenwood

           Sioux City, IA 51104

           steve.hansen@legis.iowa.gov

         

House District 15: Representative Charlie McConkey

          2222 Ave L

          Council Bluffs, IA 51501

           402.676.0105 cell

           515.281.3221 capitol

          charlie.mcconkey@legis.iowa.gov

           cmcconkey@gmail.com

 

House District 16: Representative Brent Siegrist

           204 Lori Lane

           Council Bluffs, IA 51503

           402.250.5566 cell

           712.256.3826 home

           brent.siegrist@legis.iowa.gov

           siegrists1@cox.net

 

House District 17: Representative Matt Windschitl

            2912 Light Breeze Lane

            Missouri Valley, IA 51555

            712.642.4334 home

            515.281.3221 capitol

            matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 18: Representative Steven Holt

            1430 3rd Ave S

            Denison, IA 51442

            712.269.4042 cell

            515.281.3221 capitol

            steven.holt@legis.iowa.gov

            holtforhouse@gmail.com

 

House District 21: Representative  Tom Moore

          PO Box 224

          Griswold, IA 51535

          515.281.3221 capitol

          712.778.2279 home

          712.789.9954  cell

         tom.moore@legis.iow.gov

          tmoore@netins.net

 

House District 22: Representative Jon Jacobsen

           1113 Arbor Ridge Dr.

           Council Bluffs, IA 51503

           515.281.3221 capitol

            jon.jacobsen@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 23: Representative David Sieck

          1710 Timber Lane

           Glenwood, IA 51534

           515.281.3221 capitol

           david.sieck@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 24: Representative Cecil Dolecheck

            703 North Fillmore

            Mount Ayr, IA 50854

            641.464.2913 home

            515.281.3221 capitol

           cecil.dolecheck@legis.iowa.gov

 

© 2023 Connections Area Agency on Aging

Powered by Firespring