Legislative Advocacy

The primary goal of legislative advocacy efforts of Connections Area Agency on Aging is to secure support and funding for home and community based services. These services provide seniors, persons with disabilities, and caregivers with the independence they want and need to remain in their own homes and communities. With 10,000 persons per day in the United States turning 65, the need for these services continues to increase. It is essential for you to communicate this need and your concerns with local, state and federal policymakers.

For more information concerning national issues relating to home and community based services: National Association of Area Agencies on Aging (n4a)

It is important that you speak out on the issues that concern you. Local legislators hold forums on a regular basis in their communities to "check the pulse" of their constituents and to give you the updates of their legislative work.

Here is a convenient link to the local forums hosted by each party of the Iowa Legislature. Be sure to attend and speak up!

Local Legislative Forums

 

 

Contact Information for Legislators

Federal Senators and Representatives

United States Senate

Senator Joni Ernst

111 Russell Senate Office Building

Washington DC 20510

(202) 224-3254

www.ernst.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact

 

Senator Chuck Grassley

135 Hart Senate Office Building

Washington DC 20510

(202) 224-3744

www.grassley.senate.gov/contact

 

House of Representatives

 

District 2: Congressman David Loebsack

1527 Longworth House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

(202) 225-6576

https://loebsack.house.gov/forms/writeyourrep/

 

District 3: Congressman Cynthia Axne

240 Cannon House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

(202) 225-5476

https://axne.house.gov/contact

 

District 4: Congressman Steve King

2210 Rayburn Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

202.225.4426

https://steveking.house.gov/contact


Click here to find your  Iowa legislative district.

State of Iowa Representatives and Senators

Iowa State Senators

Senate District 2: Senator Randy Feenstra

         641 Second St

          Hull, IA 51239

          712.439.1244 home

          515.281.3371 capitol

           randy.feenstra@legis.iowa.gov

 

Senate District 3: Senator Jim Carlin

           43 Arlington Rd

            Sioux City, IA 51106

            712.253.4270 cell

            515.281.3371  capitol

           jim.carlin@legis.iowa.gov

 

Senate District 7: Senator Jackie Smith

           2324 Mohawk Ct

            Sioux City, IA 51104

            712.898.0477 home

            515.281.3371

            jackie.smith@legis.iowa.gov

 

Senate District 8: Senator Dan Dawson

             213 Upland Drive

             Council Bluffs, IA 51503

              712.256.1199  home

              515.281.3371  capitol

             dan.dawson@legis.iowa.gov

 

Senate District 9: Senator Jason Schultz

            611 Cedar St, PO Box 75

            Schleswig, IA 51461

            712.269.2178  cell

            515.281.3371  capitol

            jason.schultz@legis.iowa.gov

           friendsofjschultz@yahoo.com

 

Senate District 10: Senator Jake Chapman

           25862 Fox Ridge Lane

           Adel, IA 50003

           515.650.3942  cell

           515.281.3371  capitol

            jake.chapman@legis.iowa.gov

            jake@votejakechapman.com

 

Senate District 11: Senator Tom Shipley

           2425 Birch Ave

           Nodaway, IA 50857

          712.785.3583  home

          515.281.3371  capitol

           tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov

 

Senate District 12: Senator Mark Costello

         37265 Rains Ave

          Imogene, IA 51645

          712.520-0303  cell

          515.281.3371  capitol

          mark.costello@legis.iowa.gov

 

Senate District 14: Senator Amy Sinclair

           1255 King Road

           Allerton, IA 50008

           641.870.0199  cell

           515.281.3371 capitol

           amy.sinclair@legis.iowa.gov

 

Iowa State Representatives

House District 3: Representative Daniel Huseman

          304 E 6th St PO Box 398

          Aurelia, IA 51005

          712.434.5880 home

          515.281.3221 capitol

          dan.huseman@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 5: Representative Tom Jeneary

         1501 Schafer Ave SE

          LeMars, IA 51031

          712.539.1275 cell

          tom.jeneary@legis.iowa.gov

        

House District 6: Representative Jacob Bossman

          2650 Cedar St

          Sioux City, IA 51106

         712.251.4541 cell

        jacob.bossman@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 11: Representative Gary Worthan

           5647 105th Ave

           Storm Lake, IA 50588

           712.732.6340 home

           515.281.3221 capitol

            gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 12: Representative Brian Best

           PO Box 491

           Glidden, IA 51443

           712.830.1844 cell

           515.281.3221 capitol

            brian.best@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 13: Representative Chris Hall

          3246 Douglas St

          Sioux City, IA 51104

          515.281.3221 capitol

          chris.hall@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 14: Representative Timothy Kacena

           121 S. Dorman

           Sioux City, IA 51103

           515.281.3221

           timothy.kacena@legis.iowa.gov

           timkacena@gmail.com

 

House District 15: Representative Charlie McConkey

          2222 Avenue L

          Council Bluffs, IA 51501

           402.676.0105 cell

           515.281.3221 capitol

           charlie.mcconkey@legis.iowa.gov

           cmcconkey@gmail.com

 

House District 16: Representative Mary Ann Hanusa

           121 Fox Haven Drive

           Council Bluffs, IA 51503

           712.256.5159 home

           515.281.3221 capitol

           maryann.hanusa@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 17: Representative Matt Windschitl

            2912 Light Breeze Lane

            Missouri Valley, IA 51555

            712.642.4334 home

            515.281.3221 capitol

            matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 18: Representative Steven Holt

            1430 3rd Ave

            Denison, IA 51442

            712.269.4042 cell

            515.281.3221 capitol

            steven.holt@legis.iowa.gov

            holtforhouse@gmail.com

 

House District 21: Representative  Tom Moore

          PO Box 224

          Griswold, IA 51535

          515.281.3221 capitol

          tom.moore@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 22: Representative Jon Jacobsen

           1506 Abercorn Dr.

           Council Bluffs, IA 51503

           515.281.3221 capitol

            jon.jacobsen@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 23: Representative David Sieck

          1710 Timber Lane

           Glenwood, IA 51534

           515.281.3221 capitol

           david.sieck@legis.iowa.gov

 

House District 24: Representative Cecil Dolecheck

            703 North Fillmore

            Mount Ayr, IA 50854

            641.464.2913 home

            515.281.3221 capitol

           cecil.dolecheck@legis.iowa.gov